Calgary's Malawsky, Rochester's Carey Win Les Bartley Award and NLL General Manager of the Year
iSports Wire/10242658

Calgary Coach and Rochester General Manager Both First Time Winners

PHILADELPHIA - iSportsWire -- The National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the largest and most successful professional lacrosse property in the world, today announced the winners of the Les Bartley Head Coach of the Year and the General Manager of the Year awards.

Calgary Roughnecks Head Coach, Curt Malawsky (Coquitlam, BC), wins his first Les Bartley Award for Head Coach of the Year after leading his team to a franchise high 13 wins this regular season. He is the second Roughnecks coach to win the award, joining Troy Cordingley in 2009.

A former player from 1998 to 2009, Malawsky took over the head coaching duties in 2013 for the Roughnecks and has a career regular season record of 90-80. His 90 wins now ranks 8th in league history, three behind the man behind the award in Les Bartley. Malawsky helped lead the Roughnecks to the 2019 NLL Championship as the head coach.
  • Curt Malawsky – 440 points
  • Tracey Kelusky – 241 points
  • Mike Hasen – 199 points

Rochester Knighthawks General Manager, Dan Carey (Peterborough, ON), wins his first General Manager of the Year award. Starting as an expansion franchise in the 2019-20 season the team finished the 2021-22 season with a 4-14 record. The Knighthawks had the biggest turnaround of any team from the prior season, a six-win increase and qualifying for the playoffs for the first time in franchise history with a 10-8 record. Carey has molded the roster from the very beginning after being named the team's first General Manager on December 18, 2018.

More on iSports Wire
The big name acquisition Carey made prior to the 2022-23 season was trading for Connor Fields, who was taken from Buffalo in Las Vegas' expansion draft. The East Amherst, NY product set a career high with 112 points on 52 goals, both in the top five of the NLL to help the Knighthawks offense score 34 more goals than in their 2021-22 campaign.

Carey, another former player in the NLL, played from 2006 to 2012, winning a championship in his rookie season with the Colorado Mammoth in 2006 and was named to the All-Rookie Team.
  • Dan Carey – 335 points
  • Jamie Dawick – 280 points
  • Mike Board – 223 points

Media Contact
Jerry Milani

Source: National Lacrosse League
Filed Under: Sports, Lacrosse

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on iSports Wire