Lineups Set for Final X New York/Beat the Streets on June 8 at Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden
iSports Wire/10194208

Three Olympic champions and four World champions headline field

NEW YORK - iSportsWire -- The field has been finalized for Final X New York. presented by Tezos, on Wednesday, June 8 at Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

Athletes qualified for Final X New York either by winning a 2021 World medal, or based upon their placement at the World Team Trials Challenge Tournament in Coralville, Iowa, May 20-21.

The winner of each Final X Championship Series will represent the Team USA at the Senior World Championships in Belgrade, Serbia, Sept. 10-18.

Final X New York. presented by Tezos, will serve as the 12th Beat the Streets Annual Benefit. These unique and electrifying annual events help Beat the Streets New York raise millions of dollars to support local youth wrestling programs which empower young people in New York City.

The lineup in New York is loaded, featuring three Olympic champions, 2012 Olympic champion Jordan Burroughs (74 kg men's freestyle), 2016 Olympic champion Helen Maroulis (57 kg women's freestyle) and 2020 Olympic champion David Taylor (86 kg men's freestyle).

More on iSports Wire
The field includes four World champions who have won a combined 12 World titles: Burroughs (5x), Maroulis (3x), Taylor plus three-time World champion Kyle Dake (74 kg men's freestyle).

It also features five Olympic medalists who have won six Olympic medals: Maroulis (2x, 2016 gold and 2020 bronze), Dake (2020 bronze), Burroughs (2012 gold), Taylor (2020 gold), plus 2020 Olympic bronze medalist Sarah Hildebrandt (50 kg women's freestyle).

There will be nine World medalists who have won a combined 26 World medals: Burroughs (8x), Maroulis (5x), Dake (3x), Hildebrandt (2x), Taylor (2x), two-time World bronze medalist Nick Gwiazdowski (125 kg men's freestyle), two-time World bronze medalist Alyssa Lampe (50 kg women's freestyle), 2021 World silver medalist Kayla Miracle (62 kg women's freestyle) and 2021 World bronze medalist G'Angelo Hancock (97 kg Greco-Roman).

There are nine Olympians with a combined 11 Olympic appearances: Maroulis (2x), Burroughs, Taylor, Dake, Miracle, Hildebrandt, Hancock, 2008 and 2020 Olympian Ildar Hafizov (60 kg Greco-Roman) and 2020 Olympian Alejandro Sancho (67 kg Greco-Roman). Hafizov competed for Uzbekistan in 2012 and the USA in 2020.

More on iSports Wire
The event will include 14 World Team members who have been on a total of 51 World Championships teams:

Maroulis (9x), Burroughs (8x), Hafizov (5x, 3x for Uzbekistan and 2x for USA), Lampe (5x), Gwiazdowski (4x), Hancock (4x), Hildebrandt (4x), Dake (3x), Taylor (2x), Miracle (2x), two-time World Team member Dalton Roberts (60 kg Greco-Roman), Kamal Bey (77 kg Greco-Roman), Yianni Diakomihalis (65 kg men's freestyle) and Alan Vera (87 kg Greco-Roman).

Media Contact
Jerry Milani

Source: Beat the Streets
Filed Under: Sports

Show All News | Report Violation